Congress decides to contest MLC polls under local bodies constituencies

Hyderabad, November 15: The Congress party has decided to contest biennial elections to the Telangana Legislative Council from the local authorities’ constituencies. However, a final decision on whether or not to contest from all nine local authorities’ constituencies for 12 MLC seats would be taken on November 16.
The decision was taken during the meeting of the Political Affairs Committee of Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee held through Zoom App on Monday evening. TPCC President A. Revanth Reddy, AICC Secretaries N. Bose Raju and Srinivasan Krishnan, PAC Convener Mohammed Ali Shabbir, former PCC Presidents Uttam Kumar Reddy, Ponnala Lakshmaiah and V. Hanumanth Rao, former CLP leader K. Jana Reddy, Election Committee chairman Damodar Raj Narasimha, Campaign Committee chairman Madhu Yashki Goud, former union ministers Renuka Chowdhary and Balram Naik, MLA Jagga Reddy, Mahesh Kumar Goud, G. Chinna Reddy, A. Sampath Kumar, Dasoju Sravan and other senior leaders attended the meeting.
The Congress leaders of election-bound nine districts have been directed to furnish the details of the party’s strength and the potential candidates in their respective local authorities’ constituencies by Tuesday evening. Based on their inputs, the list of seats to be contested will be decided.
Further, the Congress party has decided to intensify the membership campaign. Since the Praja Chaitanya Yatra, proposed to be held from 14th to 21st November, has been postponed in view of the Model Code of Conduct for MLC elections, the party has decided to focus on membership drive till the end of MLC elections. The TPCC Working Presidents and Senior Vice-Presidents will coordinate with DCC leadership to boost the campaign across the Telangana State. The progress will be monitored on a day-to-day basis.
Several other important issues were also discussed in the TPCC PAC meeting.