YSR Awards to be annual feature: CM

Vijayawada, Nov 1: Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has said that YSR Lifetime Achievement and YSR Achievement Awards wiil be an annual feature and will be given on State Formation Day.
Speaking at the function organised here to present the Awards, the Chief Minister said, for the first time YSR Lifetime Achievement Awards and YSR Achievement Awards are being given by the State government.
The Union Government annually honours great personalities in various fields with the highest awards in the country like Padma Sri, Padma Bhushan and Bharat Ratna. Similar to those, the State government instituted YSR Awards to honour the exemplary services of noble people and organisations across the State.
‘My Father Dr YS Rajashekar Reddy is an epitome of Telugu culture, has affection towards the agriculture sector and always strived hard for the development of the poor. He has risen to great heights with his admirable approach and impeccable services. We have announced the Awards in his name to give the highest civilian awards at the state level.
YSR Life-time Achievement Awards carries a cash prize of Rs 10 lakhs, a bronze memento of YSR and a certificate. Similarly YSR Achievement Awards carry a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh, a memento and a certificate. The Award Ceremony will be an annual fete, where awards will be given on November 1 commemorating the State Formation Day.As your family member, I feel privileged to honour the intellectuals, nobles, and unsung heroes of the Telugu nation.’ he said.
Asserting that these Awards are the most impartial awards in the history of Andhra Pradesh, he said that the selection was done in a highly transparent manner, putting a lot of emphasis on talent without considering caste, religion, region or the party they support, just the way every welfare scheme is being delivered to the beneficiaries.
He said that the awardees were selected in tune with the ideals of YSR and his philosophy, to outstanding organisations and individuals who inspire many. The awards are announced to salute the priceless talent of the common people. Apart from the 100-year-old MSN Charities, CP Brown Library, Vetapalem Library, RCD Institutions, Sathya Sai Central Trust, artistes from various fields, journalists, writers, and medical staff also received the awards.
Speaking on the occasion, Andhra Pradesh Governor Biswabhusan Harichandan congratulated the awardees and lauded YS Rajasekhara Reddy’s exemplary works rendered to various fields. He said that YSR has been a phenomenon in the history of Andhra Pradesh with his immense contribution to agriculture and strived for the welfare of the farmers and also the poor, as he knew the pulse of people being a doctor he won their hearts. He stated that the awards truly reflectt his character and charisma and stand as a recognition and acknowledgement of talent and service of individuals and institutions for their great contribution.YSR ‘s wife YS Vijayamma also shared the dais with Governor and Chief Minister.
Earlier, Government Advisor (Communications) and Convenor of the Screening Committee GVD Krishna Mohan said that the committee has met for over 20 times to shortlist the names keeping in tune with the priorities of YSR and Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy that closely match. We have roped in many reputed people in the Committee and various Departments and officials helped in the process.A total of 59 Awards were presented on the occasion.