CM reviews Education Department

-Schools reopen on June 12
-Academic Calendar Released

Amaravati, June 8: Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy held a review meeting of Education Department here on Thursday.

The Chief Minister released the Academic Calendar 2023-24. The schools would reopen on June 12. The Calendar comprises the academic schedule, details of the principal, teachers’ duties, language club, mela , labs, lesson plan format and guidelines, learn-a-word-a-day, Telugu language week, cultural activities and such details.

The Chief Minister had close look at the State Excellence Awards 20203 medals to be given to the tenth and Intermediate final year students of government institutions who excelled the exams. The Jagananna Animutyalu Awards would be presented to the students in three phases–constituency level on June 15, district level on June 17 and State level on June 20. Top 10 ranks have been bagged by 64 students during the year, officials informed the Chief Minister.

The Chief Minister reviewed, the distribution of Jagananna Vidya Kanuka kits, Nadu Nedu IFP Panels for schools covered Nadu Nedu first phase and adequate training to teachers on the usage of tabs, internet facility in all schools, besides works to be taken up under second phase of Nadu Nedu among others.

The Chief Minister directed the officials to ensure that every mandal has two junior colleges one for girls and the other for coeducation. Depending on population basis the high schools should be upgraded to junior colleges and adequate class rooms should be built under Nadu Nedu, the Chief Minister said adding that the junior colleges should be ready by next June and sufficient staff should be recruited.

The Chief Minister said that teachers should be given training on using the IFP Panels and how to send video content. Officials said that Company representatives will be giving demo to faculty of Engineering Colleges who will in turn train the teachers, the officials said. About 20,000 B Tech students would take internship and they will help teachers in using the panels, tabs Byjus content, and smart TVs, every month, the officials said.

Stressing the need to ensure 100 percent GER, the Chief Minister told the officials to take steps ensure that there are no dropouts and take the help of village and ward volunteers in this aspect. For those who could not clear 10th and 12th exams, they should be readmitted and encouraged.

There should be a constant feedback on Goru Muddha, SMF and TMF (school and toilet maintenance fund) and third party verification should be done besides steps should be taken to include Byjus content in Intermediate as well and distribution of tabs, he said.

All steps have been taken for the distribution of Jagananna Vidya Devena kits for the fourth consecutive year and 93 percent of the material reached the intended destination. The second semester books are also ready for distribution in advance, the officials said. In village and ward secretariats, digital assistants will take care of the maintenance and usage of tabs.

Internet facility should be made available in all the 45,000 schools and steps are being taken in this direction with APSFL and BSNL providing the facility. The internet facility to schools covered under first phase of Nadu Nedu is complete, the officials said adding that by September it will be extended to all schools.

Under second phase of Nadu Nedu Rs 3,28708 crore was spend and works were taken up in 22,224 schools which would be completed by December, the officials said. The Chief Minister instructed that by the time works are completed distribution of tabs and Panels should be taken up.

Education Minister B Satyanarayana, Chief Secretary Dr KS Jawahar Reddy, Advisor to Government(Education) A Sambasiva Reddy, Education Department Chief Secretary Praveen Prakash, School Education Commissioner, S Suresh Kumar, School Education Commissioner ( School Infrastructure), K Bhaskar, Intermediate Education Commissioner, MV Seshagiri Babu, Midday Meals, Director, Nidhi Meena, Higher Education Council Chairman, K Hemachandra Reddy, Village and Ward Secretariat Department Director, G Lakshmi Shah, Sarvadiksha Abhyan State Project Director, B Srinivas Rao, APSFL MD, M Madhusudhan Reddy, Government Examinations Director D Devanand Reddy, SCERT Director B Pratap Reddy and other officials were present at the meeting